fbpx

Good to know

In Grandpa’s Footsteps

27 May 1931: The Swiss adventurer and student of Albert Einstein, Auguste Piccard and his assistant Paul Kipfer suffered an emergency landing at Gurgler Ferner Glacier after they had already reached some 15,785 meters of altitude in their hot-air balloon. Almost overnight the secluded mountain village of Obergurgl became world-famous due to the successful rescue of the two explorers. 85 years later: His equally adventure-seeking grandson Bertrand Piccard visited the myth-enshrouded place for the first time: a fairly emotional journey back in time.

Auguste Piccard - Bertrand Piccard in Obergurgl-Hochgurgl
Auguste Piccard in Obergurgl © Much Heiss / Ötztal Tourismus

Like father, like son, like grandson

The Piccard family is a truly record-beating clan. Stratosphere research expert Auguste Piccard set up a world record in his ball-shaped capsule in 1931– he was the first human being who saw the earth’s curvature with his own eyes. After starting their flight in Germany’s Augsburg, the two scientists landed at the Gurgler Ferner glacier in the Ötztal Alps by chance. The sleepy village of Obergurgl was suddenly in the news all around the world.

By contrast, his son Jaques Piccard explored the earth’s depths and oceans. Up to now Jaques Piccard has been one of the most renowned deep sea research experts and reformers, by breaking also the deep sea diving record in the Mariana Trench.

So we have reached the 3rd generation of the research family: may I introduce you to Bertrand Piccard, son of Jaques Piccard and grandson of Auguste Piccard.

The 3rd generation is back in the air

Just like his grandfather, Bertrand was fond of dizzy heights. In 1999 he made the first non-stop balloon ride around the world – it was his third try. In 2016 he could achieve another technological master stroke together with André Borschberg by making a round-the-world-flight in his “Solar Impulse 2” aircraft. After 17 circumnavigation stages the two pilots reached their destination in Abu Dhabi using only solar energy. Another fabulous highlight for the Piccard family.

85 years after grandpa’s emergency landing, Bertrand Piccard visited Obergurgl-Hochgurgl for the very first time. He took a panorama flight to the historical landing place together with Lukas Scheiber, board member of Ötztal Tourismus.

Bertrand Piccard und Andre Borschberg - Bertrand Piccard in Obergurgl-Hochgurgl
Bertrand Piccard (r.) and André Borschberg have successfully completed a round-the-world-trip in their light aircraft “Solar Impulse 2” © SolarImpulse / Jean Revillard

All my life I have heard about this place where my grandfather made a glacier landing in 1931. Finally I could visit this area myself. And I am deeply touched.”

Bertrand Piccard

The traces of Piccard are ever-present until today

Obergurgl im Winter - Bertrand Piccard in Obergurgl-Hochgurgl
© Alexander Lohmann / Ötztal Tourismus

The fateful emergency landing of Auguste Piccard is strongly connected to the rise of tourism in this high Alpine region. It gave Obergurgl-Hochgurgl a real boost, paving the way for a highly promising future as prime tourism destination. The traces of Auguste Piccard are still omnipresent in the village: be it the Piccard Saal event hall or the Piccard Memorial in the center of Obergurgl.

Piccard’s emergency landing was the kick-off for international tourism in the Upper Ötztal. Thanks to countless press releases our village became world-famous overnight. Larger sized winter tourism started in the early 1930ies!”

Lukas Scheiber (Executive board member of Ötztal Tourismus)

And the Piccards also went down in pop culture: Auguste Piccard’s twin brother was the name-giver of Captain Jean-Luc Piccard in the Star Trek films. Auguste Piccard himself served as role model of Professor Bienlein in The Adventures of Tintin comic series.

Piccard im Motorradmuseum - Bertrand Piccard in Obergurgl-Hochgurgl
A tour of the Motorcycle Museum was an absolute must-do!
© Benedikt Steiner / Ötztal Tourismus

Obergurgl-Hochgurgl: A place for scientific knowledge exchange

One more reason for Bertrand Piccard’s visit to the Ötztal was the 50th anniversary of Advanced Training Courses organized by Austria’s Pediatrics Association. The adventurer is a psychiatrist himself, and gave a lecture on his “Solar Impulse 2” project and the history of the Piccards in front of 350 medical specialists.

However, the connection between the Swiss psychiatrist and pediatrics has been constantly growing as Bertrand Piccard initiated the “Winds for Hope” children’s foundation for kids suffering from Noma disease.

Celebrity visit to the “Special guest gondola”

Bertrand Piccard looks forward to visiting Obergurgl-Hochgurgl together with his children very soon as he is a passionate winter sports fan. He was mightily impressed with the snow conditions on and off the ski slopes.

Manuel from Obergurgl-Hochgurgl had the chance to make a chat with the amazing Swiss genius during a scenic ride in the “Special guest gondola” – a both exciting and entertaining talk! (Subtitles English/German available)

Gästebucheintrag Bertrand Piccard - Bertrand Piccard in Obergurgl-Hochgurgl
Bertrand Piccard’s guest book entry © Manuel Ribis

Comments

Book Online

View onto Obergurgl in winter - Obergurgl-Hochgurgl, Ötztal, Tyrol

Ranging from top modern to rustic style!

In Obergurgl-Hochgurgl a number of fine 4**** and 5***** star hotels, B&Bs, guesthouses, stylish apartments and lodgings with top quality furnishings are waiting for demanding guests. We strongly focus on high-class service right from the start. Booking on our online platform stands for premium quality and expert advice provided solely by local holiday experts.

Therefore guests benefit from exclusive deals, highly qualified recommendations and comfy booking without any fees – Therefore your relaxing holiday starts already at home. We offers myriad lodgings for couples, families and groups of friends. Simply take a closer look at our Obergurgl-Hochgurgl Booking Platform if you are searching for a perfect accommodation at the Diamond of the Alps.

Book online
Benni

Author Benni

When it comes to activity and motion, Benni pricks up his ears! He is a passionate snowboarder, mountain biker, climber & hiker and he knows no better playground for outdoor sports than the Ötztal. He is not the type to sit still - therefore Benni can be often found on the valley's most exciting bike trails and pristine powder snow slopes.

More posts by Benni

All rights reserved Salient.

By subscribing to our newsletter, the user gives his/her explicit consent, in accordance with art. 6, par. 1, point (a) GDPR, that all personal data entered are used for sending newsletters on a regular basis. The user can unsubscribe from the newsletter at any time. An ‘Unsubscribe’ link can be found at the end of each newsletter. More information can be found in our privacy policy

fbpx

Good to know

Auf den Spuren des Großvaters

27. Mai 1931: Der Einstein-Schüler und Abenteurer Auguste Piccard und sein Assistent Paul Kipfer legen nach dem ersten Stratosphärenflug auf 15.781 Meter mit einem Gasballon eine spektakuläre Notlandung am Gurgler Gletscher hin – die Nachricht der erfolgreichen Bergung der beiden Wissenschaftler macht das abgeschiedene Bergdorf Obergurgl über Nacht international bekannt. 85 Jahre später: Enkel und ebenfalls Abenteurer von Weltruhm Bertrand Piccard kehrt das 1. Mal an jenen Ort zurück, der den Mythos der Schweizer Forscherfamilie begründet – und zeigt sich emotional berührt.

Auguste Piccard - Bertrand Piccard in Obergurgl-Hochgurgl
Auguste Piccard in Obergurgl © Much Heiss / Ötztal Tourismus

Wie der Vater, so der Sohn, so der Enkel

Mit dem Aufstellen von Rekorden ist die Familie Piccard bestens vertraut. Der Stratosphärenforscher Auguste Piccard stellte mit seiner Kugelgondel 1931 einen Höhenrekord als Ballonfahrer auf – und war der erste Mensch, der die Erdkrümmung mit eigenen Augen sehen konnte. Gestartet im deutschen Augsburg landete sein Luftfahrzeug siebzehn Stunden später außerplanmäßig auf dem Gletscher in Obergurgl – die Geschichte über die Bergung der beiden Pioniere ging um die Welt.

Dessen Sohn Jaques Piccard wiederum zog es nicht in die Lüfte, sondern in die Tiefen der Weltmeere. Bis heute gilt Jaques Piccard als einer der bedeutendsten Erneuerer der Tiefseeforschung und brach im Marianengraben den Rekord im Tiefseetauchen.

Womit wir bei der 3. Generation der Forscherfamilie und somit in der Gegenwart angelangt wären: Bertrand Piccard, Sohn von Jaques Piccard bzw. Enkel von Auguste Piccard.

In der 3. Generation zurück in die Lüfte

Wie seinen berühmten Großvater zog es auch Bertrand in luftige Höhen. 1999 gelang ihm im dritten Anlauf die erste Nonstop-Ballonfahrt rund um die Erde. Im Jahr 2016 konnte er eine weitere technische Leistung von Weltrang für sich verbuchen: Gemeinsam mit Partner André Borschberg  umrundete er mit dem Solarflugzeug „Solar Impulse 2“ die Welt. Nach 17 Etappenflügen rund um den Globus erreichten die beiden Piloten den Zielflughafen in Abu Dhabi nur mit Kraft der Solarenergie. Und reihte sich mit dieser fliegerischen Glanztat nahtlos in die Ahnenreihe seiner Vorfahren ein.

85 Jahre nach der Notlandung seines Großvaters stattete Bertrand Piccard nun Obergurgl-Hochgurgl erstmalig einen Besuch ab – und überflog gemeinsam mit Lukas Scheiber, Vorstandsmitglied von Ötztal Tourismus, die historische Absturzstelle.

Bertrand Piccard und Andre Borschberg - Bertrand Piccard in Obergurgl-Hochgurgl
Bertrand Piccard (re.) und sein Partner André Borschberg nach erfolgreicher Weltumrundung mit dem Leichtflugzeug „Solar Impulse 2“ © SolarImpulse / Jean Revillard

Ich habe mein ganzes Leben von diesem Platz gehört, wo mein Großvater 1931 auf dem Gletscher gelandet ist. Nun konnte ich diesen endlich selber sehen. Das hat mich sehr berührt“

Bertrand Piccard

Die Spuren Piccards sind bis heute im Ort allgegenwärtig

Obergurgl im Winter - Bertrand Piccard in Obergurgl-Hochgurgl
© Alexander Lohmann / Ötztal Tourismus

Das Schicksal von Auguste Piccard und dessen Notlandung ist eng mit dem Aufstieg des Ortes verbunden. Schließlich gilt der einschneidende Moment im Leben der beiden Wissenschaftler auch als Initialzündung für die erfolgreiche Entwicklung von Obergurgl-Hochgurgl zur Urlaubsdestination. Die Spuren Auguste Piccards sind bis heute im Ort gut erkennbar –  sei es nun der Piccard-Saal oder das Piccard-Denkmal in der Ortsmitte von Obergurgl.

Die Piccard-Landung war der Startschuss für den internationalen Tourismus im hinteren Ötztal. Unser Ort erlangte durch unzählige Presseberichte viel Aufmerksamkeit. Anfang der 1930er Jahre ging es dann richtig los mit dem Wintertourismus!“

Lukas Scheiber (Vorstandsmitglied Ötztal Tourismus)

Aber auch in der Popkultur hat die Familie Piccard ihre Spuren hinterlassen. Der Zwillingsbruder von Auguste Piccard etwa diente als Namensgeber für Captain Jean-Luc Piccard aus Star Trek (im deutschsprachigen Raum unter „Raumschiff Enterprise“ bekannt). Auguste Piccard selbst diente als Vorbild des Professors Bienlein aus der Comicreihe Tim & Struppi, wie Zeichner & Erfinder der Figuren, Hergé, kurz vor seinem Tod verriet.

Piccard im Motorradmuseum - Bertrand Piccard in Obergurgl-Hochgurgl
Ein Besuch im Motorradmuseum durfte natürlich nicht fehlen!
© Benedikt Steiner / Ötztal Tourismus

Obergurgl-Hochgurgl: Raum für wissenschaftlichen Austausch

Anlass für die Visite von Bertrand Piccard im Ötztal war auch das 50. Jubiläum des Fortbildungskurses der Österreichischen Gesellschaft für Kinder- und Jugendheilkunde. Dabei sprach der Abenteurer, der ebenfalls Psychiater ist, vor 350 Fachärzten aus dem deutschsprachigen Raum über das „Solar Impulse 2“-Projekt und die Geschichte der Piccards – zu erzählen gab es wohl genug.

Überhaupt ist der Konnex zwischen Kinder- bzw. Jugendmedizinern und dem Schweizer Psychiater ein naheliegender: Bertrand Piccard setzt sich nämlich mit seiner Stiftung „Winds for hope“ für Kinder ein, die von der Noma-Krankheit betroffen sind.

Prominenter Besuch in der „Stammtischgondel“

Mit seinen eigenen Kindern möchte er rasch nach Obergurgl-Hochgurgl zurückkehren, zeigte sich der begeisterte Wintersportler doch von den Bedingungen auf und abseits der Piste beeindruckt.

Für Manuel aus Obergurgl-Hochgurgl hat sich der äußerst umgängliche Tausendsassa Bertrand Piccard extra Zeit genommen, um ihm im Rahmen der „Stammtischgondel“ Rede und Antwort zu stehen – ein spannendes und hörenswertes Gespräch! (Untertitel in Deutsch bzw. Englisch können eingeblendet werden)

Gästebucheintrag Bertrand Piccard - Bertrand Piccard in Obergurgl-Hochgurgl
Gästebucheintrag von Bertrand Piccard © Manuel Ribis

Kommentare

Suchen & Buchen

Blick auf Obergurgl im Winter - Obergurgl-Hochgurgl, Ötztal, Tirol

Von modern bis urig!

In Obergurgl-Hochgurgl warten auf dich 4**** und 5***** Sterne Hotels, Pensionen, stilvolle Appartements und Unterkünfte mit top Ausstattung. Auf High Quality Service legen wir ab Beginn deiner Reise großen Wert. Online zu buchen, über unsere Plattform, heißt gleichzeitig eine einheimische Urlaubsberatung zu erhalten.

Du profitierst von exklusiven Spezialangeboten, kompetenter Auskunft und einer gebührenfreien Buchung – somit ist deine Reiseplanung bereits ab der Buchung entspannend. Wir haben Unterkünfte für Pärchen, Familien, oder für Urlaub mit Freunden. Auf unserer Obergurgl-Hochgurgl Buchungsplattform findest du bestimmt deine ideale Unterkunft im Diamant der Alpen. Viel Spaß beim Stöbern & Finden deiner Traumunterkunft!

Suchen und Buchen
Benni

Autor Benni

Sobald Bewegung im Spiel ist, wird Benni hellhörig! Als begeisterter Snowboarder, Biker, Kletterer & Wanderer gibt es für ihn keinen besseren Outdoor-Spielplatz als das Ötztal. Still sitzen können andere besser, deshalb ist Benni viel auf den Trails und unverspurten Hängen des Tals unterwegs.

Mehr Artikel von Benni

All rights reserved Salient.

Alle im Rahmen der Newsletter-Anmeldung angegebenen personenbezogenen Daten werden gemäß unserer Datenschutzerklärung behandelt. Ich stimme der Erhebung, Verarbeitung und Nutzung der personenbezogenen Daten zu und habe die Datenschutzerklärung gelesen. Das Newsletter Abonnement kann jederzeit widerrufen werden. Am Ende jedes Newsletters befindet sich dafür ein entsprechender Abmeldelink.