fbpx

Ski & Snow

A complete ski area in your pocket

20 November 2016, 8:30 am, Ötztal, Obergurgl

Superb snow conditions, bright sunshine, Markus’ face gleaming with happiness. Checking the smartphone is just normal for him. New messages or the exact time. By navigating through the news, some hotel check-in information crosses his mind again. Since this winter season there is a special app for the entire ski area, and he even remembers the name: Mountain Navigator.

Top Mountain Crosspoint - Obergurgl-Hochgrugl, Ötztal, Tirol
The agreed meeting point: Top Mountain Crosspoint
© Alexander Lohmann / Ötztal Tourismus

The app towards “Top Mountain Crosspoint”!

Markus is quite skeptical about apps as there are so many useless features. Nevertheless he searches for it in the app store. Provider? “Liftgesellschaften Obergurgl-Hochgurgl” in person. Looks trustworthy. Design? Attractive and matching with the region’s holistic concept.

It’s free, just download it. In the meantime the phone rings. It’s Franz, one of his best friends. Franz spends some days exactly in the same ski region but stays at a hotel in Hochgurgl. They make a date in the ski area. Meeting spot: Top Mountain Crosspoint, 11.00 am.

A smart uphill ride

9:30 am, Festkogl Mountain Gondola leading towards Festkogl Alm. Mountain Navigator: it must have to do something with “navigation”! Markus starts the app. At 11.00 am he will meet Franz. A perfect occasion to test the application.

There is a result under a certain Highlight Points category. Markus is amazed. The app shows him not only his current position and the location of the “Top Mountain Crosspoint” but also the best route, the overall time and how many kilometers he has to ski. Three different variants are displayed in blue, red and black.

Mountain Navigator App Navigation - Obergurgl-Hochgurgl, Ötztal, Tirol
© August Schärli / Enluf

By now Markus has reached the top station. There he takes the ski run he has chosen before, and enjoys a marvelous morning on the immaculate slopes.

Skifahrer auf Piste - Obergurgl-Hochgurgl, Ötztal, Tirol
© Christoph Schöch / Ötztal Tourismus
Mountain Navigator App Info TMC - Obergurgl-Hochgurgl, Ötztal, Tirol
© August Schärli / Enluf

A one-stop service: navigation and reservation

Oh, it’s already 10.30 am and time to meet Franz. Luckily Markus has installed the app! The smartphone displays several recommended routes to reach the Top Mountain Crosspoint. Approximately 30 minutes on the black ski run. Perfect! A short description of the Top Mountain Crosspoint comprises also a direct call button.

Great idea: Markus reserves a table at the Top Mountain Crosspoint. How long does it take to reach it? Within a few minutes he has found the best route and booked a table in the restaurant via phone. Not bad, that’s what real service looks like!

Listen to the “inner” voice

Markus isn’t familiar with the area and uses the navigation feature to get to the Top Mountain Crosspoint. A friendly voice tells Markus the way. First straight ahead on Piste no. 34 until its end, then take the Große Karbahn lift, keep to the left towards Piste no. 4, only five minutes to go until you reach the Top Mountain Crosspoint.

Everything is live during the ski adventure of Markus. Similar to the Audi navigation system. Thanks a lot! You are welcome, Markus – the Obergurgl-Hochgurgl mountain lifts reply. And enjoy your meal with Franz!

Mountain Navigator App Routing
© August Schärli / Enluf

After a fine meal and awe-inspiring panoramic views, Markus checks again his iPhone and shows the superb app also to Franz. They take a closer look at the Panorama function. Whoosh, soon they find out that the app combines reality with virtual contents. Augmented Reality. Markus chooses the live mode by filming the slope from his point of view while the app shows them what they see and tells them the matching story.

Markus also takes a picture of the breathtaking panorama plus an action-packed selfie with Franz directly via the app. Both pictures feature the brand logo, Markus can’t wait to share them with his friends. Quite cool and up-to-date despite of his age! In the meantime also Franz has downloaded the mobile app to his Android smartphone. Checking the “Highlight Points” he discovers the Audi quattro funslope in Obergurgl. Franz is totally enthusiastic about it. A real attraction not to be missed on his way back.

Festkogl und Mountain Navigator App - Obergurgl-Hochgurgl, Ötztal, Tirol
© Philipp Horak / Ötztal Tourismus & August Schärli / Enluf

A sudden change in weather is in the air. Within a few minutes the fog spreads all over the ski slope, it’s hard to make out the ski run if you are still above the tree line. Franz and Markus are almost lost. Fortunately the Mountain Navigator app can help them. Entering their destination, the app will accompany them back to Obergurgl and Hochgurgl safely.

Franz and Markus enjoyed a fabulous day in the mountains. They are thankful and happy that they have reached their hotels. The ultimate “Mountain Navigator” is almost a must when it comes to complementary offers and prime services for guests in the mountains.

The Mountain Navigator App for iOS and Android systems is available for free, and can be downloaded right here:

obergurgl-hochgurgl-link-app-store obergurgl-hochgurgl-link-google-play-store

Also check out the video below (in German), which explains the features of the app in more detail:

Gastautor August Schärli - Mountain Navigator App Obergurgl-Hochgurgl
© August Schärli

Guest Author August Schärli

Founder and entrepreneur of ENLUF, a company which has its headquarters in Klosters / Switzerland. ENLUF develops solutions for enterprises working in the field of mountain lifts and tourism industry. With much love to the detail and unlimited passion we concentrate on the research and development of new solutions when it comes to live navigation and orientation in mountain areas as well as safety, augmented realities within ski or hiking regions and real-time data evaluation for mountain forecast reports of all kinds.

Comments

Book Online

View onto Obergurgl in winter - Obergurgl-Hochgurgl, Ötztal, Tyrol

Ranging from top modern to rustic style!

In Obergurgl-Hochgurgl a number of fine 4**** and 5***** star hotels, B&Bs, guesthouses, stylish apartments and lodgings with top quality furnishings are waiting for demanding guests. We strongly focus on high-class service right from the start. Booking on our online platform stands for premium quality and expert advice provided solely by local holiday experts.

Therefore guests benefit from exclusive deals, highly qualified recommendations and comfy booking without any fees – Therefore your relaxing holiday starts already at home. We offers myriad lodgings for couples, families and groups of friends. Simply take a closer look at our Obergurgl-Hochgurgl Booking Platform if you are searching for a perfect accommodation at the Diamond of the Alps.

Book online
Gastautor

Author Gastautor

... varied guest authors write about their adventures and experiences in the Ötztal / in Sölden / in Obergurgl-Hochgurgl.

More posts by Gastautor

All rights reserved Salient.

By subscribing to our newsletter, the user gives his/her explicit consent, in accordance with art. 6, par. 1, point (a) GDPR, that all personal data entered are used for sending newsletters on a regular basis. The user can unsubscribe from the newsletter at any time. An ‘Unsubscribe’ link can be found at the end of each newsletter. More information can be found in our privacy policy

fbpx

Ski & Snow

Das ganze Skigebiet in der Hosentasche

20. November 2016, 8:30 Uhr, Ötztal, Obergurgl

Beste Schneebedingungen, strahlender Sonnenschein, die Freude bei Markus dementsprechend. Der Griff nach dem Smartphone. Check der neusten Nachrichten und selbstverständlich darf auch die aktuelle Uhrzeit nicht fehlen. Während er sich auf den neusten Stand bringt kommt ihm das Gespräch von seinem Hotel Check-In in den Sinn. Für das Skigebiet existiert seit dieser Saison eine eigene App. Mountain Navigator hat er im Kopf.

Top Mountain Crosspoint - Obergurgl-Hochgrugl, Ötztal, Tirol
Der vereinbarte Treffpunkt: Der Top Mountain Crosspoint
© Alexander Lohmann / Ötztal Tourismus

„App“ zum Top Mountain Crosspoint!

Markus ist durchaus kritisch gegenüber Apps, zu viel Schrott existiert am Markt. Zurückhaltend sucht er nach der Applikation im App-Store. Anbieter? Liftgesellschaften Obergurgl-Hochgurgl persönlich. Wirkt vertrauenswürdig. Design? Ansprechend und stimmt auch irgendwie mit dem Gesamtauftritt der Region überein.

Kostet ja nix, also Download. Ist bei Bedarf auch schnell wieder deinstalliert. In der Zwischenzeit klingelt sein Smartphone. Franz Zurbrügg, ein enger Freund von Markus ruft bereits an. Franz ist in der selben Region unterwegs, jedoch in Hochgurgl beherbergt. Sie vereinbaren für den Tag ein gemeinsames Treffen im Skigebiet. Treffpunkt, Top Mountain Crosspoint 11.00 Uhr.

Smart den Berg hinauf

09:30 Uhr, Festkoglbahn in der Gondel hoch zur Festkogl Alm. Mountain Navigator, hat doch was mit Navigation zu tun? Markus nimmt sein Smartphone in die Hand und startet die installierte App. Um 11.00 Uhr hat er ja mit Franz abgemacht. Eine gute Gelegenheit, die Applikation zu testen.

Unter der Kategorie Highlight Points liefert die mobile App sofort ein Resultat. Markus ist verblüfft. Die App zeigt nicht nur seinen Standort und diesen des „Top Mountain Crosspoint“ an, sondern auch gleich wie er hin kommt, wie lange er dafür benötigt und wie viele Kilometer er bis dahin zu fahren hat. Drei verschiedene Varianten, blau, rot und schwarz, werden ihm angezeigt.

Mountain Navigator App Navigation - Obergurgl-Hochgurgl, Ötztal, Tirol
© August Schärli / Enluf

Inzwischen ist Markus auf dem Berg angekommen. Er fährt erst mal die Pisten welche er sich vorgenommen hat und genießt den Vormittag.

Skifahrer auf Piste - Obergurgl-Hochgurgl, Ötztal, Tirol
© Christoph Schöch / Ötztal Tourismus
Mountain Navigator App Info TMC - Obergurgl-Hochgurgl, Ötztal, Tirol
© August Schärli / Enluf

Navigation und Reservation aus einer Hand

Schon 10.30 Uhr, uuuuh, fast das Treffen mit Franz vergessen. Die App – Smartphone raus, Routenvorschläge zum Top Mountain Crosspoint. Schwarze Variante, dauert ca. 30 Minuten. Perfekt. Unter der Kurzbeschreibung des Top Mountain Crosspoint findet Markus auch einen Button mit Telefon.

Super denkt er sich und telefoniert gleich, um einen Tisch zu reservieren. Markus hat Glück. Im Top Mountain Crosspoint gibt es noch freie Plätze. Zeitaufwand für Markus? In drei Minuten die optimale Route zum Top Mountain Crosspoint gefunden und per Telefon im Restaurant gleich reserviert. Nicht schlecht, ein echter Gästeservice!

Hör auf die „innere“ Stimme

Markus kennt sich nicht aus im Gebiet und startet die Navigation hin zum Top Mountain Crosspoint. Eine freundliche Stimme weist von nun an Markus den Weg. Start gerade aus auf Piste Nummer 34 bis zum Ende, danach die Große Karbahn hoch, da links auf die Piste Nummer 4, zack, fünf Minuten bis zum Top Mountain Crosspoint.

Alles live, während der Fahrt von Markus. Vergleichbar mit dem Audi Navi. Danke! Die Liftgesellschaften Obergurgl-Hochgurgl sagen bitte Markus und wünschen angeregtes Essen mit Franz. Guten Appetit!

Mountain Navigator App Routing
© August Schärli / Enluf

Nach dem feinen Essen mit atemberaubender Aussicht packt Markus sein iPhone nochmals aus und zeigt Franz die App. Zusammen probieren Sie die Funktion „Panorama“ aus. Nach anfänglicher Verwirrung finden Sie schnell heraus, dass die App die Realität mit digitalen Inhalten ergänzt. Augmented Reality. Markus wählt den Live-Modus und filmt in Blickrichtung, die App zeigt den Beiden an, was sie sehen und erzählt die passende Geschichte dazu.

Markus schießt gleichzeitig noch ein Bild des Panoramas und ein Selfie zusammen mit Franz gleich mit der App. Beide Bilder sind mit dem Logo gebrandet und Markus teilt diese direkt mit seinem Umfeld. Trotz seines fortgeschrittenen Alters, ziemlich cool und praktisch. Findet Markus. Inzwischen hat auch Franz die mobile App auf seinem Android Smartphone installiert. Er findet unter Highlight Points die Audi quattro funslope Obergurgl. Franz ist begeistert. Ein Erlebnis, welches er nicht auslassen wird auf seinem Weg zurück.

Festkogl und Mountain Navigator App - Obergurgl-Hochgurgl, Ötztal, Tirol
© Philipp Horak / Ötztal Tourismus bzw. August Schärli / Enluf

Es kündigt sich einen Wetterwechsel an. Innerhalb weniger Minuten ist die gute Sicht dahin, oberhalb der Waldgrenze wird die Orientierung zur echten Herausforderung. Franz und Markus kennen sich nicht aus. Der Mountain Navigator ist den beiden aber geblieben. Ziel eingeben und sich sicher nach Obergurgl und Hochgurgl begleiten lassen.

Franz und Markus haben einen fantastischen Tag erlebt, bedanken sich und begeben sich zufrieden und sicher zurück ins Hotel. Der „Mountain Navigator“ deckt das Angebot und den Gästeservice am Berg ab.

Die Mountain-Navigator App ist für iOS und Android kostenlos verfügbar und kann jeweils hier heruntergeladen werden:

obergurgl-hochgurgl-link-app-store obergurgl-hochgurgl-link-google-play-store

Gastautor August Schärli - Mountain Navigator App Obergurgl-Hochgurgl
© August Schärli

Gastautor August Schärli

Gründer und Unternehmer der Firma ENLUF, mit Sitz in Klosters in der Schweiz. ENLUF baut smarte Lösungen für Unternehmen aus der Bergbahn- und Tourismusbranche. Wir erforschen und realisieren mit viel Freude und Leidenschaft neue Lösungen in den Kernthemen Live-Navigation und Orientierung am Berg, Sicherheit, erweiterte Realität im Ski- und Wandergebiet und an der Auswertung von Echtzeitdaten für Prognosen rund um den Berg.

Kommentare

Suchen & Buchen

Blick auf Obergurgl im Winter - Obergurgl-Hochgurgl, Ötztal, Tirol

Von modern bis urig!

In Obergurgl-Hochgurgl warten auf dich 4**** und 5***** Sterne Hotels, Pensionen, stilvolle Appartements und Unterkünfte mit top Ausstattung. Auf High Quality Service legen wir ab Beginn deiner Reise großen Wert. Online zu buchen, über unsere Plattform, heißt gleichzeitig eine einheimische Urlaubsberatung zu erhalten.

Du profitierst von exklusiven Spezialangeboten, kompetenter Auskunft und einer gebührenfreien Buchung – somit ist deine Reiseplanung bereits ab der Buchung entspannend. Wir haben Unterkünfte für Pärchen, Familien, oder für Urlaub mit Freunden. Auf unserer Obergurgl-Hochgurgl Buchungsplattform findest du bestimmt deine ideale Unterkunft im Diamant der Alpen. Viel Spaß beim Stöbern & Finden deiner Traumunterkunft!

Suchen und Buchen
Gastautor

Autor Gastautor

... verschiedene Gastautoren berichten über ihre Erfahrungen im Ötztal.

Mehr Artikel von Gastautor

All rights reserved Salient.

Alle im Rahmen der Newsletter-Anmeldung angegebenen personenbezogenen Daten werden gemäß unserer Datenschutzerklärung behandelt. Ich stimme der Erhebung, Verarbeitung und Nutzung der personenbezogenen Daten zu und habe die Datenschutzerklärung gelesen. Das Newsletter Abonnement kann jederzeit widerrufen werden. Am Ende jedes Newsletters befindet sich dafür ein entsprechender Abmeldelink.